5 Reasons I Sketch

Sketching your design seems pointless, sometimes doesn’t it? It’s all in your head. You know exactly where everything needs to be. I get that way too. I know what I need to do so why waste my time sketching? ­­Well here are 5 reasons I sketch that might change your mind.

  1. I sketch to organize my vision.

Seeing my design on paper even poorly drawn helps me organize the bits and pieces – what the text needs to look like, what shapes should be used (or cut), and where does everything really go.

Here’s an example of a photobook I made this last month. My grandparents 50th anniversary is coming up and they never had a wedding album so I took the photos my grandma had and made a photobook for them. (More about that to come)

  1. I sketch to find design elements.

It’s easy to have an idea and start running with it before thinking about it. It might look good in my head but I know the rules of design, am I following them? And if I’m breaking them is it with purpose? Sketching helps me see the composition and where there will need to be contrast or value changes. Don’t let design elements be forgotten!

When I was designing my social media pages, I created these sketches. Mostly I want to draw your attention to the Facebook banner photo. I’ve found sketching helps me a lot when it comes to photography. Drawing the little blob of me helped me figure out my composition.

  1. I sketch to save time, so I can get the computer to do what I want instead of the program dictating what I can do.

I know exactly what I want and how it needs to look. I don’t need to waste time creating 10 different designs; I already did that on paper.

Here are some sketches from when I created my logo. Notice how a lot of them look the same. Instead of spending time arranging and rearranging things in Illustrator, I made them here and then creating the logo went a lot faster.

  1. I sketch to be more creative.

Our brains are constantly stimulated by the light of our computers, phones, and TVs. When we’re not on these things, we’re talking to people, listening to music, cooking, cleaning, or doing other work. We like this though because we’re not bored. But did you know that when your brain gets bored, it starts solving problems? Sketch without distractions! Even just sit there for 20 minutes doing nothing. You’ll hate it at first, but then your mind will do its thing and bang! 20 more sketch ideas and design problems fixed.

Here are design ideas I had for visuals in this article. Notice how I tried different times on the clocks to see what looked better. A lot easier to do that here than in Adobe Illustrator.

For more about how boredom increases creativity go to www.turnofftoactivate.com .

  1. Finally, I sketch to get rid of problems before they even start.

You don’t have to be a great artist to sketch. I’m definitely not. It’s not about how well you can draw, it’s about solving those issues. Every reason listed is about that. Organize your thoughts so you don’t have layer problems in your Adobe program. Use or identify your design elements before it’s too late. Save time and don’t make 50 designs for one thing because you didn’t sketch them first. Let your creativity flow. You’re a designer; it’s what you do. Don’t let a computer influence your design. Sketching may seem pointless at times but I promise if you let yourself have that time, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

